Pediatric Endocrinology

Scientific Director

Martin O. Savage

Martin O. Savage

Professor Emeritus of Pediatric Endocrinology
William Harvey Research Institute Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary
University of London, UK

Scientific Committee

Marco Cappa

Marco Cappa

Professor of Pediatrics at “Tor Vergata” University of Rome, Italy and Professor of Endocrinology at “La Sapienza” University of Rome
Rome, Italy
Justin Davies

Justin Davies

Honorary Professor of Paediatric Endocrinology at the University of Southampton, UK and Head of Department at the Regional Centre for Paediatric Endocrinology at Southampton Children’s Hospital
Richard JM Ross

Richard JM Ross

Professor of Endocrinology University of Sheffield
Sheffield, UK

· Martin O. Savage ·

Martin Savage is Emeritus Professor of Paediatric Endocrinology at William Harvey Research Institute, Barts and the London School of Medicine & Dentistry, Queen Mary, University of London. He was head of the Paediatric Endocrine Unit at Barts and the London School of Medicine from 1982 to 2007. He has interests in growth disorders, specifically those with abnormalities in the GH-IGF-1 axis and in phenotype-genotype relationships of GH-IGF-1 axis defects, notably GH resistance. He published the first human case of an IGF-1 gene defect in the New England Journal of Medicine in 1996.  His other interests are Cushing’s syndrome and growth in chronic inflammatory diseases. He was General Secretary of the European Society for Paediatric Endocrinology (ESPE) from 1997 to 2004. He has lectured in 60 countries and has published 482 original articles, reviews, textbook chapters and books. In 2007, he was awarded the ESPE Andrea Prader Prize for contributions to paediatric endocrinology and in 2018 he received a Visionary Award from the American Human Growth Foundation. In 2022, he received a Research Excellence Award from the Dr Sulaiman Al Habib Medical Journal in Riyadh, and the British Society of Paediatric Endocrinology & Diabetes James M. Tanner Lifetime Achievement Award. He continues to lecture nationally and internationally.

· Marco Cappa ·

Marco Cappa is Head of the Endocrinology Unit of the Department of Pediatrics, Bambino Gesu Children’s Hospital, Rome and Palidoro, Professor of Pediatric Endocrinology and Pediatrics at the University La Sapienza, Rome and Professor of Pediatrics at the University Tor Vergata, Rome, Italy. Professor Cappa’s specialties include endocrinology, pediatrics and sports medicine. From 2011 to 2013 he was the President of Italian Society of Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetology Society (ISPED). His main scientific areas of interest include, neuroendocrinology and genetics, growth hormone testing, adrenoleukodystrophy, Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia and Prader Willi syndrome, rare Thyroid disorders. He is a member of several organisations, including the Italian Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes Society, the European Society of Neuroendocrinology, The Endocrine Society, and the European Society for Pediatric Endocrinology. Professor Cappaserves on the editorial board of the Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness and the Italian Journal of Pediatrics, and he is a reviewer for the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, the Journal of Endocrinology Investigation, the Italian Journal of Pediatrics, the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, Clinical Endocrinology, the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery and Psychiatry and the Journal of Pediatrics.Author and co-author of more than 450 (345 with IF h-Index 44) in extenso publications in journals such as the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, Lancet, Hormone Research, Journal of Pediatrics, American Journal of Medical Genetics, Neurology, and the Journal of Pediatric Endocrinology and Metabolism, heis also editor of 11 international books and authors of more than100 books chaptersandconducted more than 25 trials in pediatric endocrinology fields.

· Justin Davies ·

Justin Davies is Professor of Paediatric Endocrinology at the University of Southampton, UK. Prof Davies research interests include growth and imprinting disorders (including Silver-Russell and Temple syndrome), secondary osteoporosis and care for children with differences of sex development. He Co-Chairs the British Society of Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes Growth Disorders Special Interest Group, and is developing a standardised national approach to growth assessment and management of growth hormone deficiency.

He is Chair of the international – DSD care quality committee. Prof Davies is member of the national NHS England service specification working group– developing national policy to optimise paediatric endocrine services and improve care. He is a Senior Editor for Endocrine Connections. Prof Davies leads the European Society for Paediatric Endocrinology, Winter School. He is a past Chair of the British Society of Paediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes 2016-2020.

· Richard JM Ross ·

Richard JM Ross trained in medicine at The Royal London Hospital (1974-1979) and in Endocrinology at St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London (1983-1988). Appointed to Sheffield University in 1995 and is Professor of Endocrinology, past Head of Section and currently theme lead for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism. Retired from clinical practice in 2021. Richard’s research and clinical interests are in pituitary and adrenal disease, transition endocrinology and the late effects of cancer. Richard was Chief Scientific Officer and Director on the Board of Diurnal Group Plc (2004-2022); overseeing its flotation in 2015 on the London Stock market (AIM) prior to its purchase by Neurocrine Biosciences in 2022. Served on the editorial boards of: Clinical Endocrinology (1996-2000), Growth & Growth Factors (1986-2006), Hormones (2004-2018), and J Clin Endocrinol Metab (2010-2014). Council member for the Society of Endocrinology (1999-2002), Editor Endocrinologist (2001-2004), Chair of CaHASE (2002-2015), member of the Bioscientifica Board (2006-2010), Society for Endocrinology Public Engagement Committee (2008-2011) and Nominations Committee (2010-2012). Executive Committee of the European Society of Endocrinology (2011-2015), Treasurer of the European Society of Endocrinology (2013-2015), The Growth Hormone Research Society Council (2011-2018), and The Pituitary Society Board of Directors (2019-). Received The Endocrine Societies “Outstanding Innovation Award” in 2021 and awarded the Clinical